This handbook has been drafted by Stefano Inama, Chief of the Technical Cooperation and Enhanced Integrated Framework Section of UNCTAD’s Division for Africa, Least Developed Countries, and Special Programmes (ALDC) with the assistance of Janine Walz, Anna Markitanova and Michaela Summerer. The work was completed under the overall supervision of Paul Akiwumi, Director of ALDC. Magali Studer designed the cover and additional support was provided by Pramilla Crivelli and Stefanie Garry. Maurizio Cancelli provided the artwork for this publication.

This handbook is intended to help producers, traders and exporters understand and apply the preferential rules of origin available to least developed country (LDC) members of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) under free trade agreements (FTAs). At the time of publication, the LDC members of ASEAN are Cambodia, the Lao People’s Democratic Republic and Myanmar.
This handbook analyses and compares the following FTAs:
(a) ASEAN Trade in Goods Agreement (ATIGA)
(b) ASEAN – Australia – New Zealand Free Trade Area (AANZFTA)
(c) ASEAN – India Free Trade Agreement (AIFTA)
(d) ASEAN – China Free Trade Area (ACFTA)
(e) ASEAN – Japan Comprehensive Economic Partnership Agreement (AJCEP)
(f) ASEAN – Republic of Korea Free Trade Agreement (AKFTA)
(g) ASEAN – Hong Kong, China Free Trade Agreement (AHKFTA) (together, the ASEAN FTAs).
This publication is part III of UNCTAD’s Handbooks on Duty-free Quota-free Market Access and Rules of Origin for Least Developed Countries series. Part III covers ASEAN FTAs with dialogue partners. Part I refers to QUAD countries (namely Canada, the European Union, Japan and the United States of America) and Part II covers other developing and developed countries.

Leave a Reply